main logo

Az Delivers The Format On New Studio Lp

Posted on October 1, 2006 by


After beginning his career by debuting on Nas' track "Life's A Bitch," rap artist AZ released classic Albums such as 1995's Doe or Die, 1998's Pieces Of A Man, 2001's 9 Lives and 2002's Aziatic. AZ was also a member of rap super group The Firm with Nas, Foxy Brown and Nature and has recorded with some of today’s greatest producers such as Dr. Dre, DJ Premier, Trackmasters, Buckwild and Pete Rock.

Following the success of his 2005 release A.W.O.L., AZ strikes back again a mere year later with a brand new studio LP, The Format, which will be released on 11-7-06 courtesy of AZ’s own label Quiet Money/Fastlife Music.

After a decade in the game, A.W.O.L., brought AZ back to the forefront and among his rightful place as one of Hiphop’s most elite visceral lyricists; and The Format will only build upon his already legendary status, as AZ’s vision and lyrical power to paint pictures have long been celebrated by critics and fans alike.

The Format is a rock-solid collection of 12 new tracks, lead by the DJ Premier produced title track, as Primo and AZ rekindle the seamless chemistry they previously demonstrated on 2005’s “The Come Up.” Also, after producing AZ’s 2005 street-anthem “New York,” Emile (more recently Emile produced Obie Trice’s “They Wanna Know”) rejoins the fold to produce four-tracks. M.O.P.’s Lil Fame produces three tracks and also appears alongside his M.O.P. brethren Billy Danzenie and AZ on “Sit ‘Em Back Slow” and Little Brother joins AZ on “Rise And Fall” (which is co-produced by Little Brother’s Phonte Coleman.

The Format will also contain a bonus DVD, will contain a live concert performance and music videos.

Tracklisting and credits for AZ’s The Format:

1). I Am The Truth (Produced by Lil Fame)
2). Sit 'Em Back Slow f/M.O.P. (Produced by Face Defeat and Lil
3.) Get High (Produced by Emile)
4.) Make Me! (Produced by Emile)
5). Rise & Fall f/Little Brother (Produced by J.Cardim and Phonte Coleman)
6.) Animal (Produced by Statik Selektah)
7.) Doing That (Produced by Lil Fame)
8.) This What I Do (Produced by J.Cardim)
9.) The Format (Produced by DJ Premier)
10.) Vendetta (Produced by J.Cardim)
11.) Game Of Life (Produced by Emile)

12.) Royal Salute (Produced by Emile)---Bonus Track

Share This

Reaction Comments

Warning: mysql_result() [function.mysql-result]: Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 23 in /home/hiphopr/public_html/includes/news_functions.php on line 404

Warning: mysql_result() [function.mysql-result]: Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 24 in /home/hiphopr/public_html/includes/news_functions.php on line 407

Comment by , on 5th October 2006

I love az, he still does not recieve full credit. I cannot remember the last time I saw an az video on b.e.t. Or az on a magazine cover. Its a shame and sham.

To submit a comment, please login or register.

© Copyright 2016

Thank you for printing from We hope you found this information useful.